Let's talk about string thickness, break-in, bind consistency and more!

Hi everyone, I’m by no means a yoyo expert, but I like this hobby. I only started yoyoing since last October, but I’ve been practicing a lot and slowly starting to appreciate the subtle differences in different yoyos and their accessories.

Recently I’ve been trying out different kinds of strings. So far I’ve tried Kitty Fat and XL, Sochi Fat and Normal, and Markmont Cumulus Foam.

I know that a lot of people seem to prefer new, bouncy string. However, It’s quite the opposite for me. I like broken-in string. It might be crusty looking compared to new string, but it’s more consistent. From my experience, once a string is broken in, it plays consistently after that. New string tend to be bouncy, and as time goes on, it stretches in length and becomes thinner. I like consistency in my string.

One of the other things I care about in a string is bind consistency. I hate when my binds slip. I have quite a few binds up my puny arsenal of tricks, but there is this one bind that seem to be on the border of risky/safe binds.

Some binds like guy wright, hiroyuki suzuki, laceration and the regular binds are of low risk from my experience, and they pretty much bind the way I want all the time.

However, there is this one bind I do pretty much the majority of the time and despite it being reliable 90% of the time it still slips every now and then. I’ve been using that bind all the time so I’m pretty sensitive when something feels off about it. While going through different types of pads and string, I noticed something strange about string.