Let's talk about delrin...

I have a couple of delrin yoyos inbound (Cabal & Goliat), and I’m wondering what to expect from them versus more mainstream plastic, as well as aluminum. I’m fairly new to modern yoyos, and I was hoping to get some input from folks that have a lot of experience with all three materials.
I would certainly appreciate any info you could provide!

Delrin yo-yos are pretty much the best plastics you can get. They cost more because they are machined like a metal yo-yo and perform just as well. Since the plastic is machined, they will give smoother play and the manufacturers can do a better job of weight distribution when compared to a molded plastic. Companies like Crucial and One Drop have done some amazing things with the material.

1 Like

Well honestly; since you already have the Delrin yoyos in the mail; it’s kinda pointless.

When you get the yoyos ‘soon’ your impressions of both will be far more enlightening than anything.

Yo sure did pick out 2 Excellent yoyos👍

Personally I love the feel of Delrin yoyos. They feel unlike any other material; in the hand or in play.

I started cutting up Delrin over a decade ago. Its fun to work with and very durable. And as in the case of the Cabal; you get a lot of yoyo considering the pricepoing🤓

And made right up in Oregon by U.S. Citizens👍

2 Likes

Hey Doc, since you have worked with it as a seasoned machining vet what did you consider the hurdles when working with the material. I have heard from Paul Yath in the past that it can be a finicky material to machine correctly and it takes a deft hand to get it just right.

I completely agree that it feels unlike anything else. They are a blast to play.

They’re usually better than injection molded plastics :slight_smile: