Journey from plastics to metal... it's about time to take that first step!

I’ve been throwing for about 3 months now, and have thus far been using plastics such as yyj kickside, speedmaker, legacy, and yyf protostar. I’ve been using the protostar mostly to practice and learn tricks and was in love. The protostar is such an awesome plastic throw.

As with many other people, I was always afraid to invest in metals because I like to keep my toys nice and shiny and ding free. I know that some dings and scuffs are inevitable, but that still lingered in my mind. When I found the protostar, I thought ‘I would never need a metal’. Well… I still don’t ‘need’ a metal… but I the lingering thought in my head kept asking me, “What am I missing if I don’t go metal?”

Lo’ and behold… I just received my first metal orders… both YYF Superstar (Yuji edition) and Yuuksta. My mind is now thoroughly blown with BOTH of them. I’ve been throwing them for several hours now, and I’m in love! They are so smooth… much quieter than the protostar.

The Yuuksta is my first undersized throw and I dig it for sure! It was a toss up between the Yuuksta or the Protege. I decided to go with the latest and greatest for personal reasons (though they are only like 1 month apart release wise). I ordered to orange wash color and at first it feels a little ‘powdery’ but that fades as you play with it. It comes with a Center trac bearing and yellow poly string. The first thing I noticed was the stability. Even when I threw it with a slight tilt, it stayed stable and spun forever. The size is very interesting and definitely catches you by surprise when you’re used to full sized throws. Still very easy to catch on the string and play with crazy speed (I’m slow but playing this makes me feel faster already!).