Improve response for binding?

So I got a b-grade YYF KEdge in the mail the other day and it’s very quickly becoming my favorite throw. It is ever so slightly bigger (diameter) than I’d like…but I’m adjusting.
The only thing that’s bugging me…is it’s not quite as snappy as I wish it was when binding.
Now I am new to yoing…so my binds aren’t that great which isn’t helping…but most my other throws are just better for me at binding. This one is a bit slippy and can take me a few attempts to get back up.

I’m afraid to add any lube to it…as it plays absolutely fantastically as it’s set up. Super smooth and long spinning and just about dead silent.
I also don’t have any replacement response pads for it.

Any suggestions? Do I just need to keep on working at my binds?

2 Likes

Replace string, replace pads are the first things I’d try, in that order. Go with a fatter string is a super easy change-up.

You could also swap bearing but it’s unlikely to be affected by bearing, but maybe worth a shot if swapping string and pads didn’t improve things?

8 Likes

Thanks :slight_smile: I’ll pick up some pads next time I order some stuff.
Any suggestions on which pads to go with?
The ones on it right now are a dark yellow/light brown.

My Kedge is snappy on the binds, so you prolly need to tinker with it.

2 Likes

Thanks. Hoping I can figure out a way to tinker with it without sacrificing the awesome performance it’s giving me! lol

1 Like

Right but try a fatter string first, that’s much easier than pulling pads.

9 Likes

Yeah not all YYF pads are made the same. Not familiar with that color but I often end up changing out the green YYF pads. IMO blue and red YYF pads are the best of what I’ve tried.

Alternatively, you could snag One Drop Flow Groove pads here at YoYoExpert. Just make sure you get the 19mm slim size, not the propriety size for OD throws.

As Coding said, though. I’d also try fatter string. Personally, I find fat MonkeyfingeR Vines to be plenty grippy.

2 Likes