I'm scared. Please help.

I have encountered a new phobia that is related to yoyoing. I’m afraid to throw the yoyo because I am afraid that it will have some kind of knot, and come right back up and hit me in the face. So far TODAY I have had 8 encounters of it being VERY CLOSE to hitting me. And had already had it hit me 2 times in the face and 1 time in the “area”. 11 today! And counting. I am getting knots a lot because I am new to binding and get knots every single time I bind (I’m learning) and have to untangle the dang string every single time I bring a bind back. How can I have this stop? Lol, I flinch every time I throw and can’t help it no matter how hard I try.

Don’t throw a break away after you bind. Throw a front throw, make sure you dont have a knot, then start.

1 Like

I also have a minor form of this phobia, try being very jerky when you do the bind, I know it sounds a bit weird, but short and choppy binds prevent less room for there to be knots, and when you are proficient enough to do binds easily you can start binding, and throwing without worrying (much) about hitting your head. I hope this helps.

You should be getting to where you can feel when your getting one.

2 Likes

Actually I have been doing front throws this whole time and also, I should not have to untangle the string every SINGLE time I throw. If this problem happens with my poly strings and DM2 that arrives tomorrow, then I quit. Hopefully it won’t happen

The only way to get rid of it is to stop worrying about it. If you believe it will happen, it will. But really, use your reflexes. You’ll be fine. Once you get a scar? Good. You’ve become a real yoyo player. We all get hit at some point. Some tips to avoid it would be

1. Don’t leave tangles. Ever. Ever. You WILL forget.
  2. Do a gentle test throw to get any kinks out
  3. Manage your string tension. Spaghetti string causes knots and tangles.