I got to visit One Drop today!

And I can’t say enough good things about David, Shawn, and the gang. I really wasn’t expecting to meet such a friendly, helpful, and engaging group of guys. They deeply care about their customers and the products they produce. I had a great chat with David and Paul about the history and evolution of yoyos over the years that ended with them describing how modern yoyos are designed and made. I have a new appreciation for everything that goes into making these things.

They walked me through some new skills and tricks, and I got to try out a ton of yoyos, including the first metal yoyo David ever bought and the first model One Drop ever produced. I arrived a little before lunch, so Paul was left to show me the available throws. He was gracious enough to provide a lot of instruction and answer all my questions. As you all know, this guy is amazing to watch, but he’s also incredibly patient and an excellent teacher. I’m new to the game, so the tutorial session today was invaluable!

Paul gave me a little tour of the equipment, and we looked at (and played) some new yoyos they’re developing, including a titanium model and another that harkens to the company’s past. These are exciting times, especially since they’re gearing up to move the outfit to downtown Eugene.

I apologize for gushing, but I feel fortunate to live so close to One Drop and to be able to help support a company that’s producing top-notch products here in the US. If you’re ever wondering if One Drop yoyos are worth the asking price, the answer is a resounding yes.

I left the shop feeling like One Drop is the Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory of yoyo manufacturers, and I won a golden ticket that got me through the gates. I ended up with several gorgeous new throws, but best of all, I met some fantastic folks and got a huge shot of inspiration. Send them an email and swing by if you’re ever in Eugene. You’ll be glad you did.