How to get a really smooth throw?

So I’ve been playing with yoyos on and off for a couple years, and I still get vibe a lot of the time when I throw. I’ve been doing some research today into the issue and it looks like the problem is me. I haven’t been able to find any help on how to throw a yoyo smoothly. I play my yoyos with a counterweight. How do I? Can any of you offer tips or tricks as to how to do this? Thank you!!!

Really it just comes down to practice. It takes years to get down a really solid throw, and everyone is constantly improving.

Just keep at it, you’ll get better.

Could the issue be my bind? I don’t feel like it’s my throw being better or worse. And why is my throw with my oxy 5 dead smooth every time, and with all other yoyos vibey most of the time if my throw is bad?

If the throw releases without a snag, your bind was fine. Your bind can’t induce vibe.

Couldn’t even guess why the Oxy is throwing dead smooth and no other yoyos are. There’s just something about it that’s causing you to throw differently or it’s interacting in a way that’s more forgiving of your throw.

But it’s still gotta be one of two things:

1. All your yoyos except the Oxy have significant vibe
  2. Like all of us, you are continuing to improve your throw and it’s producing vibe

There aren’t a lot of other options!

It’s easy to tell if it’s the yoyos: throw a nice hard and straight sleeper (forget breakaways for a moment, most people have more reliable sleepers). Touch your fingernail lightly against a rim for a few moments and it will cause the yoyo to “straighten out”. Still vibing? It’s your yoyo. Smooth? It’s your throw-- keep practicing!