Advice about vibe when throwing

I’ve been throwing for just over 2 months but I’m making good progress. I can do the trick ladder up to Kwijibo (which is my current trick project) and I’ve learns some additional tricks like Zammy’s “Like a Boss”. I’m throwing a YYF Shutter.

When I throw a front throw I can get a very straight and very smooth, non-vibrating spin. So I know the yoyo is capable of really good spins.

When I throw a breakaway I tend to get a lot of vibration. I’ve been working very hard on making my breakaway consistent and straight. That is: I try to notice if I’ve thrown it at an angle and I correct it.

I notice that if my bind left a lot of slack string then I’ll certainly get a lot of vibe. But even with a tight bind I still get way more vibration then I should which tells me that I’m doing something wrong with my throw.

Does anyone have any idea what I may be doing to cause this vibe or what I should look for to solve this problem?

Thank you.

I think you’re already on the right path-- throwing, spotting problems, and working to correct them. There’s not likely to be just one tip that will automatically fix it. Mindful practice and patience. :slight_smile:

I do find that if I try TOO hard to throw a straight breakaway, I sometimes psych myself out. This happens mainly when I’m trying to teach people. So I’m over-emphasizing how to get a straight throw and then ironically it turns out less consistent.

Don’t be afraid to sometimes just huck it and see what happens.

1 Like

Its really just practice just keep throwing breakaways and eventually you’ll get one and then you’ll go “No way! its straight” and than you can keep expanding on that thats really all there is to it I don’t know what else I can tell you. May be theres someone else that can come along and give some more tips. Because I don’t remember what I did when I was having similar problems in my early years. But always remember to practice and have fun.