How do you remember tricks / learn the steps that make up a trick?

I’m not quite sure how to phrase this question – I’m still a beginner, going through the basic tricks on the (edit: another site) ‘1a’ list, and while I’m making progress, I find that I keep forgetting tricks I’d previously learned. For example, ‘skin the gerbil’ – I could do that one while I was following the tutorial, but now it’s a couple of months later, and it’s completely gone from my mind; it looks familiar when I watch it and I think I can do all the elements, but I couldn’t tell you the actual sequence of moves involved any more.

This also makes it difficult to learn more complex things, because just remembering all the steps is a problem, let alone doing them.

How do people keep this sort of thing clear when learning tricks/combos? Do you think “breakaway, yoyo goes clockwise around index finger on non-yoyo hand, then reverse direction over ring finger, comes under yoyo hand, around the wrist and onto the second string” (or whatever it is), at that level of detail, or is it “trapeze to brother to 1 1/2 mount (or whatever)” (and if so, how do you handle new elements that aren’t part of a smaller trick). Or do you, I dunno, mentally play back a video, or have a series of images in your mind, or mentally hear someone reading out the transcript of a tutorial, or something else?