Hey, pretty new yoyoer with a Dark Magic question.

I am relatively new to yoyoing like I am just starting to learn trapeze and string tricks past that. But I am using a Yomega Power Brain XP Wing with smart switch. I let some kid at school try it and he broke the switch so it is stuck on clutch. So I need a new yoyo.
I was looking at Samad’s comprehensive yoyo guide

I guess I am under the “Good throw, what’s next” category. He recommends a kickside, a lyn fury, a journey, or a velocity.
Now my question. Would my learning of 1A yoyoing be slowed down at all if I bought a Dark Magic rather than any of his suggestions? I like the look of a dark magic and don’t really have the money to upgrade to one when I am actually good enough. Thanks for your suggestions.

You can start with the Dark Magic. It’ll be just a tiny bit harder, but it is still very possible. Get some thick lube if you want to make it responsive.

Also, you could go with one of those plastic yoyos. They can take you just as far.

What part of the switch is broken? It might just be misaligned somewhere.

I started with a DM i bought that slick 6 strings and THIN lub and it was fine learnt bind in one day and from then on its been a very good throw i dont see any harm in starting with it tbh.

I have located the problem in my Yomega and one of the pegs that pulls one half of the teeth/clutch back is snapped off.
Thanks for the advice though. I will be buying a Dark Magic then. Just gotta decide on color :stuck_out_tongue:

getting DM instead will not slow you down , just it is unresponsive yo-yo and require bind …or you can apply thick lube on it instead

Haha lime green if i had waited i woulda gotten one. dark magic is a great choice i learned to bind on it and i split the atom on this yoyo for the first time. now it has shims on it and i still love it!!!

No one here has given you a bit of bad advice, don’t get me wrong, but let me throw another angle at you.