Hey, I’m new to yoyoing!

and I was wondering wether or not any of you have tips other than “Practice and learn new tricks” anything helps(for the most part)!

Practice the tried and true legacy, standard tricks and mounts. Most everything else incorporates them to some degree.

Practice is the key, there is no magic method.

Youtube has a lot of tricks, I like videos from MrYoYoThrower. When you get better, you should check out the Impressive Intermediate Tricks thread on here. The most important thing is to have fun!

I’m a 6 month beginner. My best tips:
Practice and learn new tricks

This. All I would add is don’t torture yourself if you hit some trick elements that you can’t get, move on to what you enjoy, and revisit the harder stuff later. There are certain tricks I have tried and just abandoned because it felt more like work than fun. Other stuff I have worked on for ridiculously long times because I felt the trick was cool and it wasn’t frustrating to keep at it.

Thanks, If you have any other ideas for me please just put down. Anything helps!

I am back after about a 45 year break so I am pretty much a beginner myself. I agree with kevinm that no matter what it is you are doing, if you are doing it for fun when it stops being fun and becomes frustrating or just plain work either go do something you do well or put it away and come back later. I am just going down the list of 1st 50 tricks and learning to loop as well. I find it very satisfying to check one off and move to the next.

Well it’s good to hear that you are hopping back into it! I’m going down the list too! However I am mostly focusing on the 1A portion of it because that is what looks appealing to me. With the sage coming in soon I’m excited to continue my journey through Yoyoing!

Have fun. Always remember that a yoyo is a toy, always has been, and toys are meant to be used to have fun. If whatever you’re doing with it isn’t fun, find what is fun to do.