Help deciding what OD and CLYW to buy

I’m fairly new to yo-yos and haven’t bought a OD or CLYW yo-yo yet. Just looking for a little help deciding which one. I’m not a fan of organic shaped and and don’t want anything to similar to what i already have which is; Wide Shutter, Edge, K-Edge, Boost, Czech point pivot, Marco.

2 Likes

You have quite a nice selection already in terms of shapes and sizes!

Ironically I would recommend that you get an organic, probably the OneDrop MMC – it’s the only serious shape not represented by what you have already!

Beyond that I can recommend a modern CLYW: Borealis, Kayak, Puffin, Compass. All are kinda similar in shape … one of my (small) beefs with CLYW is that their stuff is all kinda variations on a theme to me. OneDrop explores more extremes, if you really don’t want the MMC (but truth, it is amazing) then I’d say go for the TopDeck or Kuntosh 5000QV.

2 Likes

Thank you so much. Personally i’m leaning towards CLYW and was wondering why you recommended those four.

I feel those are the most modern, recent CLYW releases. Some of the older 2-3 year prior CLYW stuff feels like throwbacks. To be honest I’m not a huge CLYW fan because of the relative lack of diversity in their designs, but it’s a minor complaint… the quality and worksmanship is super high.

Throw the Dune on that list too :wink:

This helps a lot thanks.

I think the CLYW Chief would give you a real solid feel of how CLYW is as a company. That’s a great “gateway” CLYW, it’s about as CLYW as you can get :slight_smile:

1 Like

Whats the difference between the Borealis and the Borealis 2

Out of those two brands, One Drop Allday.

Kuntosh 5kQV
VTWO
Top Deck
Dang 2

1 Like

The Vtwo is the only one drop yoyo that seems interesting to me right now

In the One Drop line; if you like v shapes more; get the VTwo. If you lean towards more classic rounder shapes; get an Overture.

If you have the money; get both: a VTwo and an Overture.