Having problems with Split Bottom Mount. And possible yoyo problems

My major issue is when I swing the yoyo up to land on the string, it will either A) Bounce off the string in my throw hand. B) land on the string and slide down on my non throw hand finger then stop. OR C) completly miss all together. It’s a pain and it’s more of a hit or miss with my yoyo. I’ve got a Dark Magic.

BTW my yoyo doesn’t sleep very long. I’m throwing the yoyo quite hard but it will spin for like 30 secs then it will tilt then spin out. Any suggestions on what it could be?

PRACTICE. All that you can do is practice. When i first got my DM i could only get a 45 second sleeper out of it but now three months later i can get it to go 2:15. I play it with a center track bearing and two red shims.

1 Like

Um I don’t know if you just mixed up the wording on your post, but it does sound like you might be doing the split bottom mount wrong. When you land it and it slides down the string, it should be hitting you throw hand finger not your non-throw hand finger. If it’s bouncing off the string on your throw hand then you’re either missing and hitting the wrong string, or you mean your non-throw hand.

With all that said, and you’ve made sure you know the proper way it’s done. The first response is 100% correct, PRACTICE & More Practice is the only way to get it. This was one of the harder mounts for me to get personally, so I can understand your frustration. I have short fingers (I think anyway) and it made learning and getting this down very hard in the beginning.

Only thing I can say is practice more then 1 mount in a throw. Don’t just try once, return and try again. Keep going. If you land it, dismount keeping your hands in the same place and remount. This will help build what people refer to as “muscle memory.”

1 Like

I Used to have the same problem -This is he reply i got after sending an email to yoyoexpert.