Happy ending to scary mail delivery problem

Hey guys, sad yoyo story incoming…

I have a collector friend that I periodically buy yoyos from. I have no idea what he sends, he just selects a bunch from his collection and sends them my way. I am a sophomore in college and the mail system isn’t great. You need swipe access to the building so often packages are left outside of the door unattended. To mitigate concerns about theft, I asked that the packages (2) be sent certified so that if there was no one there to sign for it I could go to the local post office and pick it up.

Lo and behold, both packages are delivered yesterday morning, Saturday 10/19, at 8:32 AM. Packages are brought to the house office where they are sorted and then we can pick them up with our student ID. I received no notification yesterday or today so I went to speak with the building manager and they are nowhere to be found.

I am guessing that whoever took the packages has no idea what they are and they’re probably going in the garbage. I will be on the lookout for 50-60 2000-2008 era metal yoyos online. If anyone sees a lot of these in the same place I am happy to pay a big finder’s fee. I asked what he sent me and will update when I know.

TLDR: 50ish 2000-2008 era yoyos were presumably stolen from outside of my dorm and if you see any suspicious collections popping up online I am paying a sizeable finder’s fee.

15 Likes

That sucks. Hope you can find them:)

8 Likes

I got eyes on EBay for you @mrciurleo! Sorry to hear that happened!

4 Likes

They are insured?

2 Likes

That sucks Matt. I’m curious though, were the packages actually signed for?

3 Likes

Hopefully they weren’t actually delivered yet. I’ve had packages listed as delivered, but then they show up a day or two later. Put up a list, once you have it, here and on FB BST so you have more eyes on the lookout. Either way, good luck!

5 Likes

Delivered and possibly went back with the driver. No record until off the truck.

2 Likes