good yoyo string

what yoyo string do you recomend? :slight_smile:

I havenā€™t been in yoyoing long, but my recommendation is: all ofā€™em!

Iā€™m in the process of trying everything I can get my hands on. They all have things I like and things I donā€™t. Iā€™m semi partial to the Toxic Strings at the moment, now that I learned how to tie a knot that will keep them from slipping off my finger.

Not impressed with the Fat Kitty. Itā€™s not fat enough compared to a regular kitty. The regular Kitty, however, is nice as a ā€œstandardā€ poly string.

For the most part, Iā€™m happy with the YYE 100-count Slick6 and 100% polyester. I have some experience with other stuff.

What I would recommend is to buy some small packs of different strings, say, 3, 5 or 10 counts. Thatā€™s typically enough to formulate an opinion.

Different strings have different properties. Some are stiffer, which hold loops better when doing suicide-type tricks, and itā€™s probably good for some whips, slacks and lacerations. Some strings are thicker than others, which can be more responsive, but can also have more stretch and bounce in them. Different blends of nylon and polyester fibers can also have different feels. Some strings last longer than others(some a LOT longer than others).

So really, itā€™s best to buy some of anything that sounds good to you based on the description and give it a try.

What I think is interesting, but logical, are Sniffyā€™s reviews of yoyos. Iā€™d suggest you watch a few of them. Heā€™s got a knack for really matching up the string to the yoyo. Since different yoyo models play differently, it makes sense to find a string that best matches the yyoo. Most yoyos come stock with something like a Kitty string on it, which isnā€™t bad, isnā€™t great and is more than sufficient for me. I think if I had the skills and experience, finding my own best string for a yoyo would be quite a bit of fun.