Do softer yoyos exist?

Okay so I’m an adult beginner, I’ve bought one metal Yoyo ( DV888 ) and two plastic yoyos ( Spinstar LED + Loop720 ).

The thing is, metal is too hard for me because I already hurt a finger quite badly with it (got a bruise). Plastic is OK but long-lasting playing sessions start to hurt quite a lot in the end.

Maybe it’s because I like to wake my yoyos when they have quite a lot of velocity remaining.

It’s possible that I didn’t search hard enough but I would like to know if there are yoyos that have some sort of coating in silicone or that are made of softer plastic.

I’d like to avoid gloves if possible.

Thanks!

1 Like

It’s not really a performance throw but the Duncan Hayabusa has rubber rims. It should be decent for the majority of tricks if you’re still starting out. Later on you can even use it for 4a which is what it was designed for.

3 Likes

I haven’t thrown a ton of yoyos, but when I read this the Recess First Base came to mind. It performs nicely at a lower weight and can be responsive or unresponsive. Even though it still has plenty of zip left when I tug/bind, it usually does hit the hand rather softly. My two cents anyway.

2 Likes

Let me guess… was it the DV888? :boom::boxing_glove:

7 Likes

Look into Henrys Viper yoyos.

6 Likes

The Alleycat 650b is 16g lighter, it’s the only metal responsive I have but it’s great.

You could probably find one for resale on the forum if you look for a bit.

Jeff, you are Totally right about the DV888.

I will never forget the day I last threw mine around.

I was doing some off-string with the DV888. I launched it pretty darn high one evening.
I lost it in the shadows. It came down and Slammed into me at full force.

I remember waking up in the Intensive Care Unit.

I had: a concussion, compressed spinal column, fractured skull, 2 broken arms, a dislocated shoulder, 4 broken ribs, internal bleeding, a sprained ankle and blurred vision.