Do I need a new yoyo?

To give a short background on myself. I tend to “drown” myself in material things I am interested in and have determined to stop this earlier this year. For instance, I was into drones for a little bit of time, and bought 6 in the period of 2 months, which is way excessive. I was into videogames for a time period, and bought 7-8 games in about three months and played one of them for more than an hour.

That said, I am getting decent at yoyo-ing. I am on the “advanced” section of the tutorials on YYE here and I am getting better every day. Ive been doing this for about three months. I currently throw a replay-pro.

My question is if I should buy a new yo-yo soon. I have never owned a metal or a premium plastic, but I feel like the replay pro still has a lot of room for me to grow in. The only thing I feel like the replay pro is terrible at is finger spins (and I dont think it grinds well either, which I have been messing around with)

If I do get a new yoyo, I was looking at the YYR diffusion, OD Cabal, 2sick pawn, or if I get a metal, the YYF Space Cadet.

But will getting a new yoyo help me progress in doing new tricks, or is it just a “taste” thing ? I dont want to end up with 50 throws and I only use one. Id rather have one all-arounder, and if the replay-pro will work for me for the next year, Id rather stick with that.

You don’t really “need” more than one yoyo if it works well for you. However, most of us tend to have a certain shape, weight, and feel we prefer.

I’d recommend that your next yoyo be something different than what you have so you can explore these characteristics.

If you are having fun with what you have stick with it for a while. There’s no rush and everyone’s yoyo journey is different. Enjoy yours. :slight_smile: When you start feeling like you’re losing interest or not having as much fun, find a new yoyo to love.