DM2 spin time

I have a DM2, and it is an awesome throw but it sleeps for a upward of 40 seconds with flowable silicone and a stock dry YYJ speed bearing. I heard some people saying that DM2 has wicked spin, but I don’t think 40 secs is a wicked spin time. Or is 40 seconds normal?

Mine is thrown daily and I’m easily getting close to 3 minutes using a YYJ bearing, but I usually use a Terrapin X Wing Cut in there, and am getting nearly the same times. Yes, I use flowable and my bearings are well broken in.

How long have you been throwing? I mean, my sleeps have improved from 20 seconds to around 3 minutes if I let it. Usually I’m trying to learn tricks, and since I’m not clean, I rarely get spins that long unless I am just doing a hanging sleep.

I’ve been throwing for about 4 months.

It’s also partially based on your technique. You need to adjust the tilt, to ensure that the string does not touch the yoyo, while timing your sleeper.

The string is dead center.

Given that the string is dead center and the bearing is completely clean, I think the only thing you can do is to snap your wrist harder when you throw. This is weird.
Normally, you should be able to get 1-2 minutes on a strong throw. Try cleaning your bearing again before you throw.

I’ve heard of people getting 4+ minutes stock.

well that doesn’t work as im throwing so hard the my wrist is about to fall off and the string is dead center but 45 seconds

Are you lubing the bearing? If so, you may have to much lube or the bearing may be dirty or, even as hard as you’re throwing, you are still developing your throw and it needs to be stronger. The only other possibility is a bad bearing which is kind of doubtful or there is a response issue. Make certain your bearing seat is completely clean.

Hmmm…don’t know what else to say.

Odd.

Are you sure the bearing is clean?

It sounds like it might be locked and it is not moving, making it sleep time terrible.

Suggestion: