dm2 or dv888?

so i have done a good amount of research on both yoyos. right now i have my first yoyo “the one”. it’s a good yoyo for the start, but i wanted something for more advanced tricks. As well as wanting a long spin time. So which would be better for this the “Dark Magic 2”, or the “Dv888”

What’s your play style?
My preference would be the dv888.
It’s pretty smooth, good spin times and good at grinds.

I have both. I prefer the DM2, but both are great yoyos. The larger size and weight of the DM2 as well as the shape. The shapes are very different as well as the sizes. The DM2 has 2 bearings while the DV888 only has one. The DM2 is plastic and metal, while the dv888 is all metal. Too many differences.

In general, I think you’d be happier with the DM2.

Gotta agree with Studio42 on this one. DM2 probably a better choice for you

I had a DM2 as my first yoyo. It was great for what I was looking for. As a beginner I wasn’t very good so I beat up the DM2 a lot and it kept spinning. HOWEVER, When i first got it I had barely played with the thing until it stripped. I sent it back and got a new one and after a few months of beating it stripped again.

I would recommend the DV888. You will eventually want an all metal yoyo. The DM2 is bi-metal.
Dv888 is slighly undersized but the DM2 is normal sized… It comes down to preference in the end. Make a decision and stick with it and you’ll be happy either way :slight_smile:

Same as Studio and Skiyo I have both. First I bought myself the DM2 and that yoyo got me through everything! It’s a great throw and now that I can compare I’d say: if it’s your first real investment on a throw, go DM2. Friendly shape and size (I was used to YYF’s One) and the weight is great.