Different string types

I’m new to this forum. I used to throw a lot like eight years ago, and I’m getting back into it. I bought a shutter wide-angle recently, and I also got two free strings with it. One of them is what I believe to be a snakebite string and the other I think is a kitty string. One of them is really skinny so that one’s a snakebite I believe and the other ones are really thick I believe that one’s a kitty string. I primarily throw 1a so the skinny string I liked just fine, but the thick one I immediately hated. Can someone give me some insight on these thick strings I just don’t understand. I am not a beginner, but I was fighting this thing for a half hour. It’s like playing with a piece of yarn. Thanks for any info.

PS I was excited about trying a new type of string

4 Likes

I would suggest looking at @theendofcake 's String review page!

Personally I think the C3 Pro string is just good universal string for its price. Sochi also produces good product. I personally use Yoyo String Labs Nytro or KaPOW! for when I want a more refined string feel.

The aforementioned page:

Also on your thing about thick string- it’s all about preference and gap width. Narrow-gapped yoyos get snagged on thick string more easily and thus may bind unintentionally. However, they tend to be more comfortable than narrow string, last longer (per my experience- it could also just be my perception) and do just fine when paired with a wide-gap yoyo.

Thin string to me is gross but it is important to use in 2A. It also is compatible with more yoyos as they don’t have as much of a presence in the gap and are far less likely to unintentionally trigger the bind response.

6 Likes

There is “A Lot” to string.

Its about finding what “You” like for how you play.

The stri gs the people use are as varried as yhe yoyos they choose to throw.

1 Like