Dedicated beginner questions/recommendation

Hello all. I am just getting into serious yoyoing in my late 20s and am loving it. I threw a bit in my youth with imperials and butterflies so I know how to throw well and do basic tricks. I am throwing with a Profly right now. However, I am wanting to get into 1a style play and am looking for a yoyo to take me from beginner to advanced.

I have read a lot on forums and think I understand about responsive/unresponsive, different response systems, etc. I am willing to get a yoyo that requires regular maintenance or easy mods (I am a bit of a tinkerer).

I have the following questions:

• How important is it to start off with a responsive yoyo when learning 1a. Should I be open to a more unresponsive yoyo? I have YouTube’d tons of “how to bind” vids and honestly, it doesn’t look that hard. A basic bind looks like wrapping another loop around a Trapeze, right?

• Should I get a yoyo with a externally adjustable response (Velocity) or one where a bearing or o-ring change is required?

• Gap: wide or narrow?

• Price: my wife and 10month old would not appreciate me buying a $40+ “toy”! So I am looking for something $10-$25. I have seen a lot of mentions for the Velocity, One, Whip, Lyn Fury/Kickside, Freehand Zero, Journey, Legacy, plastic Grind Machine, and Protostar (a bit outside my pricerange). Any thoughts?

Thanks a ton in advance for any help yall can give!

I started straight out the gate with an unresponsive yoyo (from a cheap £1 brain) and I think it really helped me to get used to unresponsive play. Though some people take a while to learn the binds and prefer the option of a responsive. If you feel you can learn it easily and will stick to yoyoing then I’d personally get a unresponsive.

I have never used a adjustable response (like the Velocity) yoyo so I cannot but I like the idea though most yoyos can just be siliconed. Adjustable gaps I never liked since I always felt that it might be too loose or too tight.