Dark Magic II or NorthStar?

Alright, I used to yo when I was a kid, 10-11, and I picked it up again a week ago, now 21.
At the moment I’m using YYJ’s KickSide and YYF’s ONE.

The KickSide is ok, but the hybrid response system seems inconsistent.
The ONE is great, but it’s too light for me.

I’m looking for an upgrade and I know the NorthStar and Dark Magic II would definitely be one.

Any help?

Thanks,
Carpe

I say flip a coin.

Both are great and if you get hooked; then you’ll probably end up with both of them anyways. I consistently rotate between them. Still throw both even with $100 throws in my collection.

Yea, I’ve not seen anything negative about either yo.

I just want something consistently good with a good bit of weight at a decent price.

The hybrid system on the KS is way too inconsistent for me, could be that I’m a novice, though.

The ONE is too light and too fast, too fast to Sidewind.

I know I’ll find what I’m looking for in both of these yos.

Thanks, mate.

Possible deciding factor.

Where are you on binding? The northstar is straight up unresponsive, and requires accurate binds. The DMII comes with 2 bearings, 1 if you wanna go back on the list and work on tricks that require responsive play, and the other for pure unresponsive play. But the northstar is about as heavy as they come.

i myself would go with whatever looks cool.

haha! i havnt used my 54 in a week and have onyl been using my 2 starlites xD

Thanks for the responses.

I’m purchasing the Dark Magic II, my binds aren’t perfect yet and this yo will help me along the way.

I will purchase the NorthStar soon, though.

Thanks again,
Carpe

They are very simillar in play such as the tricks they do, but not in other specs. The shape is different. DM2 has a nice wing shape feel, as you expected, but the Northstar has a small H-Shape. I don’t like the H-Shape as much because it seperates your fingers quite wider while throwing.