Dark Magic 2 responsiveness

Hey guys,

So I just acquired a Dark Magic 2, and it feels and plays great. I only have a question for you all, since I’m just new at this type of yoyo-ing.

I am still using the small ball-bearing element, for more responsive play, but it feels more like a semi-responsive yoyo (if that is even possible). I doesn’t really reacts when I tug it to get it up, I sometimes just have to tug it once, sometimes 5/6 times. Other tricks like “pop-the-clutch” or a “trapeze” with a more fancy return almost aren’t possible anymore. And when it does come back the string isn’t properly twisted around the yoyo.

So I use the DM2 fresh out of the box, small bearing and with the original response system still fully intact. I am wondering if there’s something wrong or that this is the way it is supposed to react, even while using the more responsive small bearing.

I really appreciate all the help and comments!

Most people don’t stick around with responsive play very long after getting a DM2. I know what you’re talking about though, I was in the same position 2 years ago. I upgraded to a DM2 from a Reflex to get started “for real”.

Over time, the slim bearing’s lube will break down and the bearing will spin longer and longer. This means the yoyo will lose responsiveness. It will never become completely unresponsive with even a completely clean slim bearing installed, but over time it will become less and less responsive.