Carbon Fiber Yoyo

Talked with a guy in the mall after he noticed me yoyoing. He happened to be a machinist who said he’d thought about making one out of carbon fiber. I thought to myself, “Surely that would be way too light,” but then it got me thinking. Could it be done with some weight rings? Is CF injection molded or shaped otherwise? Could it be turned on a lathe?

Hmmm. Maybe. I’m not an expert at this stuff; I don’t really know anything about this. That would be really cool to have a carbon fiber yoyo. I’d like to see if it were posible!

There was a yoyo called the Rev G that was carbon fiber with metal rims. Unfortunately, the design was generally regarded as terrible, so it didn’t really go anywhere. Shinobu/S.Kon (the famous modder) also made at least one design with carbon fiber that I’ve heard worked great. I think he used metal rims and maybe metal hubs in his design.

S.kon has made a few carbon fiber yo-yos. They use a carbon body with metal hubs and metal rims… they work very well, but they honestly don’t offer a ‘major’ performance boost of any kind, they’re just really cool.

However, CF is a very expensive material to manufacture and it needs to be done in very large quantities to be even remotely affordable.

S.kon has the advantage of being able to do the work himself due to his expertise in the field.

Kyle

First, expensive. Second, going to be a pain to design it just right.

Of course it probably would be priced a lot higher than performance would justify due to the price of making CF. but it’d be pretty sweet.

How about a metal yoyo, with carbon fiber rims. Sort of like YYJ’s plastic/metal combination, but instead of plastic, you have metal, and instead of metal rims, you have carbon fiber rims.

Because that’s pretty much backwards of the weight distribution you want for stability and improved spin. The metal (heavier material) should be on the outside.

That’s true, I didn’t think about the weight distribution.