Buying a first (kind of) yoyo.

My girlfriend randomly bought me a Duncan Imperial for no serious reason and threw it in with my Christmas present a while back.

I started playing around with it a while ago and managed to snap the string after a few days. I don’t really know how to do anything of any real importance, and knowing myself, I doubt I’ll get into it enough to justify buying anything too expensive, but I’d like to buy a bit nicer yoyo to play around with.

Ideally I’d like something that comes with 2 bearings to change between responsive and unresponsive so that I can learn. I’ve been looking at stuff, and I would probably buy the YYJ Dark Magic II if I knew I’d stick with it but I don’t think I can justify that kind of money at least yet.

I’m kind of looking toward the couple of starter kits that come with cheap yoyos and upgrade kits like the YYF One, but I’m a bit off put by how cheap it looks.

What other good options do I have if I don’t want to invest too much money but want the option between responsive and unresponsive?

You could buy a cheaper Yoyojam yoyo with a stock “C” bearing, then purchase the Yoyojam thin bearing at the same time for responsive play. For that matter, any brand yoyo that uses the stock “C” bearing can also use the Yoyojam thin bearing.

The bearing is like $7

First of all, thanks for the advice on bearings.

I was looking through YYJ’s cheaper yoyos and browsing a bit and the two that caught my eye are the Legacy III and the Centripetal Force. Both of these actually mention having bearings for responsive and unresponsive play (though the Centripetal force doesn’t mention it in the specs section like the Legacy III does which is a bit weird?) and both seem like good options.

Does anyone have any insight on either of the two, or a suggestion on an alternative?