New to yoyo

Hi everyone I’m new to yoyo.I have a cheap wooden one and I want to do more tricks and was just wondering what a good starter yoyo would be thanks for the help.

There’s a lot to consider, but I will keep the prices low.

One thing you need to consider is “do I want to start playing responsive and then move to unresponsive play”, or “do I just want to dive into unresponsive play”. Responsive means when you tug, the yoyo comes back. Unresponsive play requires you to do a bind return to bring the yoyo back. I recommend and will take the position of starting responsive and migrating to unresponsive but not changing the yoyo.

If you don’t want extra parts, the YoYoFactory Velocity is idea… The mechanism on the sides lets you adjust the response system closer together or further apart. The yoyo can go from way too responsive to completely unresponsive and anything in between. You can dial-in your preference freely. At under $15, it’s quite a steal and loads of fun.

If you want a complete package(this will make sense later), the YoYoJam Legacy II would be ideal. The yoyo ships with a narrow bearing inside the yoyo, enabling responsive play. Inside the box is a wider bearing. Simply swap the bearing for unresponsive play. I do recommend getting YoYoJam thick lube if you intend to play responsive for a long time because the lube in the slim bearing will break down and need to be re-lubed to keep it responsive. Odds are you won’t be staying responsive very long. $25 for the yoyo, lube is extra.