Breakaway

Hi All,

Ok so I’ve just got a YoYoJam Speeder. I’m a beginner and perhaps that was my first mistake but I’m going to roll with it and hope I improve. I can do most of the beginner section now just after a couple of hours YoYoing.

So on the breakaway I’m finding the string to tighten uncomfortably (and become sore) around my middle finder when the yoyo is caught back in my hand. Any suggestions?

I’m also finding the yoyo to not respond many times when I throw a sleeper. I tug the string and the yo yo just jumps and carries on spinning?? I get this happen with ‘Pop the Clutch’ so I can’t yet even do that trick. Should I be looking to buy a beginner yoyo or shall I press on? Thanks. Jon.

good beginner yoyo speeder

Pop the Clutch and some of those tricks won’t be used much if at all as you progress but if you really want to learn them you will either need to tighten the gap on the Speeder all the way, apply some thick lube, or get a more beginner yoyo. The Speeder is good, but it is for unresponsive play and requires a bind (usually) to get it to come back to the hand.

1 Like

Yes you will have some finger pain. You will eventually get a callous and it will go away. You can use medical/athletic tape, but this is like French kids and blue cheese. You have to force it down their throat for some time before they really like it.

Addment: Not meant to offend any Frenchmen.

yeah sometimes my finger bleeds no i move it to my knucle

OK, first, the Speeder is an unresponsive yoyo, and requires a bind…
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sDTuvqVD224  ( not me )
I personally recommend a Mosquito to learn the basic tricks.
And on the hurt finger, over time it won’t hurt, you will just get use to it. try tightening it so that it doesn’t slide around and burn your finger, or loosen it if it is hurting because it is making an indention in your finger. try to put something on your finger ( such as atheletes tape) if it bothers you too much. Hope I helped!

Thanks team,