Boing E Boing

So any suggestions on boing e boing?
You know, other than practice more.
I can’t seem to get the motion started.

Yeah, it’s really really hard, I can’t get it either. First, I do the cheat way. Just bounce it around 2 strings using both hands and then start the up and down motion.

I suggest starting with a small movement bouncing between strings, then gradually get bigger and faster as you learn to control it…

This one isn’t easy to learn so good luck!

This video helped me a lot: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FuLFZMZkcGk
Like Brett said in the video, try doing a barrel roll then try and start the motion. And I know that in the OP you said for us to say something besides practice, but its really the key. Practice, practice, and more practice will help you.

DO A BARREL ROLL! :stuck_out_tongue:

6 months in and I’m just beginning to land a few ones

it’s much harder than it looks, just keep at it and you’ll land it eventually, but you’ll fail a lot and most likely for a long time before you get consistant on it

Just to point out, the two strings are that important in Boing-e-boing. It is the momentum of the yoyo that causes it to go back and forth, so you can actually practice it without the two strings, as the video below shows.

actually the “practice more” is the answer here, this is a very difficult trick to master and you need to do it literally thousands of times before you get it right

if you’re discouraged by the “practice more” advices, maybe you should stick to playstation ;D yoyoing is all about practicing more and more and not giving up.

I agree with you. However, there has to be some guidance to the practice, or it is ineffective.
And some of us need all the guidance we can get ;D

I hear you. There have been times i am practicing a trick over and over…but i’m actually doing it WRONG. When i realize or get guidance then i start to hit the trick the correct way.

and yeah… boing e boing sucks. I have an ugly relationship with it.