Beginner Yo-Yo Impressions

As a newcomer to yo-yos, I thought I’d put down my impressions here of the yo-yos I’ve purchased and used so far as a beginner.

I started with the YYE One. It was nice and easy to use and learn on, and I accomplished my first few tricks with it. Definitely a good beginner’s yo-yo.

I purchased a YYT Fizz yo-yo on a recommendation I read. I was pleased with the weight and feel, but the thing has a terrible habit of getting the string stuck and tangled up in the special return system (it doesn’t use pads), especially when doing things like the snap wind where the string may not wind perfectly around the yo-yo. It doesn’t help that I’m a beginner, either.

The YYT Oracle was my next purchase for looping. These are nice and smooth and responsive. Definitely worth it for me so far.

I have a few more beginner/intermediate yo-yos on the way including a Velocity, Glide, Metal Drifter, and a N00b Bind. I’m finding it fun to mess with the different types of yo-yos. I’d be happy to hear suggestions.

1 Like

I’d stick with what you have now and work your way up the trick ladder. Get your breakaways relatively smooth before trying unresponsive play. At that point you need to learn how to bind. Better yoyo recs will come later, but basically everything out there over $30 is a great yoyo depending on preferences.

Dont want to overwhelm you, but fixed axle play is also fun. A wooden fixie belongs in every yoyo collection imo.

That’s funny you mention that. I work yearly at the New York Renaissance Faire in costume and was looking for a wooden yo-yo to mess with that is more “period” (I don’t really know if there were yo-yos in that day and age but I’ll pretend and no one will care. :laughing:). I thought I saw some being made by YYF, but I’d want just a plain one with no markings.