Beginner Needs Advice on first trick yo yo

I am new to yo yoing but very excited to get-into-it seriously. To do that I need a yo yo. I want to invest in a yo yo for myself and one for my 9 year old so we can learn together. I am thinking of the Dark Magic II for myself and either the Velocity or the Sage yo yo (from yoyotricks.com) for my 9 year old.

I would really appreciate any other recommendations that experienced people have about the selections above and/or other yo yo’s I should consider before buying these. I would like to have the option of going from responsive to unresponsive once I get better. This is why I chose the Dark Magic II (plus it gets good ratings) I have about 70.00 to spend for two yo yo’s.

Thank you all.

Personally, a Yoyojam Classic is better than the 2 choices you listed for your kid. Besides, its also upgradeable to unresponsive.

I second the yyj classic for ur kid. For u I’d suggest buying something off the bst. If not then go for a yyf shutter, c3 level 6 or OD benchmark H

Sorry double post

My suggested shopping list for you:

-two YYJ Classics ($20)
-two full sized bearings to upgrade the Classics when you’re ready to move from responsive to unresponsive tricks ($10-15)
-two sets of silicone pads, again for the upgrade to unresponsive play ($4)
-a 100 bundle of Kitty Polyester strings ($20)

Yuki

I appreciate the feedback all. One more question. I have not done any binding yet and am really just a beginner so would a binding yo-yo just frustrate the hell out of me or is it something I should just learn now so I can get a better caliber of yo yo? The yo-yo jam for my kid seems like a good idea for sure if the Sage and Velocity don’t really compare. It boils down to wanting something nice for myself that will “grow” with me for a few years. Thanks again.

the Classic comes with a responsive bearing, so you can learn basics on it too.