Looking for a Yo-Yo for "newbie"

Hello Everyone.

I just recently came across this site. I love it. I used to play with a yo-yo as a kid and just recently purchased one again.

I am a relative beginner as far as tricks are concerned. I know how to do the sleeper, walk the dog, and loop.

I am wondering if you guys could help me out. I need some advice on what you guys think is a good Yo-Yo for me to purchase. I just bought the Yomega Radier from TRU and was looking at getting something better.

All of you help is much appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Thank you very much for the suggestions.

Stupid question…what does “play unresponsive” mean? Sorry for the newbie question.

Questions such as yours can be tricky to answer as there are so many choices where not one is better than the next. If you have purchased a Raider at TRU you may wish to go back and see if they have a Dash or Maverick. They usually have Duncan throws such as Freehands which are not a bad place to start. So much depends on what type of play you are interested in. For me when I got back into throwing I wanted to get into 1A straight away. You will probably have a frustrating experience if you have a go at that with your Raider. Your going to want to look into a yoyo typically referred as a butterfly or wing shape and that’s the direction I’m now going to be pointing.

YoYoExpert is my favorite place to shop and they have so much to offer. YoYoJam has reasonably priced yoyos such as the Legacy and Lyn Fury. If you are going to work your way through the tutorials here you’ll find André using a Dark Magic. (and why not, it’s got his name right on the side of it.) I own two Dark Magics and I recommend them highly. I go back to them again and again when learning something new. I have a soft spot in my heart for Duncan. Their Raptor is a fantastic yoyo as is something like an Echo.