Beginner needs help with "Hop the fence"

I know that I am a total noob for needing help with something that is so basic, however i just started this lifestyle.

I have a yomega Maverick, and a Yomega Raider ex.

I am using the raider ex for now to start off with because I have found that it seems to be suggested that looping is important for starting out, then moving onward to string tricks.

Anyways, I am having a lot of trouble with “hop the fence”

I can not seem to keep the yo yo straight. The yo yo will sometimes flop on its side, and kind of create a “sleeping beauty”, other times I will have the yoyo at almost a 45 degree angle, and it will either bounce around all over the place, or it will lose all momentum and fail. Other times, I get the yoyo to stay straight, but it seems to have turned around while going over my hand, so instead of cleanely hopping from one side of my hand to the other, it appears as if it got turned around in the process. I don’t know if that is normal. Basically, when I hop the fence, is the string supposed to be on the same side of the yoyo that I started with? (when I threw it) or on the opposite?

I have tried watching several videos, and I have tried mimicing their movements. I have tried turning my hand to the left or the right, and I have tried flicking my wrist a little less or a little more. I have tried moving my whole hand up and down or just forward or backwards. you name it and I have given it a shot. All with unconsisiten results.

I was just wondering if this is a normal beginner’s frustration, and if so, I will keep giving it my best shot. I just wanted to make sure that I wasn’t missing something because it sounds like this trick is supposed to be ssoo easy, but I can’t get it down. I have at least put 3 hours of practice in and I can’t even throw it down right ONCE.