Beginner learning unresponsive

I am just learning to throw and bind an unresponsive yoyo. I have watched the beginning bind technique videos, but they move pretty fast. I am just starting to get the hang of it and I’m hit and miss with binding.

Would my yoyo bind easier for learning if I used a thick string?

Would lubricating the bearing with thick oil help?

Thank you, Jeff

2 Likes

Thick string may make it a bit easier to perform some binds, but all you really need is practice.

9 Likes

Yes. I know practice makes perfect. I was just wondering if a thick string would make it bind easier so I would get the bind more frequently to develop the technique. ?

Thank you, Jeff

What yoyo, definitely don’t use any lube especially thick

3 Likes

Yes, using a thicker string will help. I didn’t realize this when I was learning to bind and I made the mistake of trying to learn to bind with a Replay Pro and a regular thickness string. It was nothing but frustration city. Use a yoyo with a narrow gap, or use a thicker string. Either will help tremendously.

Note that the biggest factor in binding successfully is friction. The three things that lower available friction the most are a wide gap, a thin string, and a slowly spinning yoyo. That last one is key. Even a yoyo with a thin gap is going to be hard to bind if it is barely spinning. You will generally find that the faster the yoyo is spinning when you bind, the easier it will grab the string and the faster it will return to your hand, but also the less string you will need to feed into the gap to make it happen, and if you put too much string into the gap for the speed it is spinning at, you will end up with a long “tail” in the wind. You will learn to match string feed amount with yoyo speed as you gain experience.

7 Likes

Great advise. Thank you!

This is really good video to show you what really needs to happen with every bind.

3 Likes