Been making strings lately!

Hey everyone! I’m pretty new to the forums here, and just wanted to get involved a bit. I’ve read a ton of posts about string making and wanted to share some I’ve made recently. I just make strings for myself, not to sell, and I don’t think I’ll ever sell them because I learned from a good friend who sells strings and told me some of his secrets so I wouldn’t want to profit from his kindness. Anyway, here’s some strings I made, and I’m looking forward to getting to know you guys and learning more! These are all polyester/nylon blend, even though I’m pretty new to yoyo I got spoiled having really good strings early on.

20 Likes

Wow those are sharp!! Love the gray color!

1 Like

Love how vibrant that last one is!

1 Like

Thank you! I got some tips from Cody over at Lifeline Strings, and my mom happened to have a few spools of the thread Cody recommended, so she let me use them so I could find which colors I like best before buying a bunch. That grey is one she loaned me, and it worked out really nice! I’ve made about 40 strings in the past few days just trying out a ton of color combinations lol

2 Likes

Thanks! Bright yellow is one of my favorite string colors since it shows up so well on videos, and I’ve been uploading a ton of videos on my Instagram to document my progress as I learn new tricks. That yellow with white is basically a reproduction of Lifeline Strings Glass Cloud, although I’m not as good at making them consistent yet. They play fantastic though, and I can’t thank Cody enough for telling me some of his secrets! He closed his string shop to spend more time with family, so he helped me out a lot with learning how to make strings like his. Credit where credit’s due, I couldn’t have done it without help.

4 Likes

Wow that’s a lot of strings!!!

Haha yeah, my wife and my dogs are really getting sick of the sound of the drill…