Another question about unresponsive yoyo

Hello everyone,
as I wrote in my introduction I am totally newbie in yoyoing, so please don’t kill me if what I ask has been asked many times before :slight_smile:

I bought my first “modern” yoyo, Yoyofactory One (in order to improve both responsive and unresponsive ways).

I started playing with unresponsive bearing, and for a couple of days everything was fine, yoyo was 100% unresponsive.
Since yesterday yoyo became suddenly almost completely responsive!

I googled a bit, and I found out that probably bearings must “break”, because probably the brand new yoyo as a lot of lube inside. And I also read that new silicon pads could make an unresponsive yoyo become more responsive.

My question is: should I just play a lot and wait for break to happen (how long could it take?), or you suggest to clean the bearings in order to wait less time?

I am not very good in manual activities, so I would not risk to damage the bearing cleaning it… my idea would be to play and wait… but please I would really appreciate your suggestion about it!

Thank you in advance for your help! :slight_smile:

Usually if a yoyo becomes suddenly responsive as you describe, something is interfering with the bearing, so you may need to clean it. You should unscrew the yoyo and inspect it first, you may just have a hair or something you could remove without actually cleaning the bearing in solvent. Check that your response pads are in the grooves too, sometimes on a new yoyo a pad can come a little loose and rub the string.

Is it possible that your strIng is wet with oil ?

I can’t really tell for sure. String is not really wet, but the endig part (the part around bearing) looks a bit like “sticky”: when I unwrap string I do feel it a little bit sticky.

thank you for your suggestion
I checked the bearing and I didn’t see any hair or anything like that.