Yoyo keeps coming back up without a bind but it does when i tug (its a unresponsive yoyo

hi guys! So I got my yoyo around 5 hours ago and now it wont come back up with a bind but it comes up when i tug on it like a responsive yoyo, they yoyo im using is a YoYoFactory Atom smasher with shadow response pads it is a unresponsive yoyo but it wont come up with bind but it does when i tug on it

1 Like

Sounds to me like you gotta clean the bearing :sweat_smile: there might me a hair or something in it in it that’s stopping it from engaging the bind :thinking:

okay ill try that… Btw what all do you need to clean im somewhat new to using yoyos and it will be my first time cleaning it

Bummer that your new yoyo us acting up! That combination sounds like a dirty bearing and dirty pads. would recommend cleaning the bearing, and wiping down your response pads. Cleaning the bearing will help it spin freely, and wiping down the pads should remove any gunk preventing the string from binding. To clean the bearing use alcohol, lighter fluid, acetone, or mineral spririts. To clean the pads use a dry rag.

This topic has been discussed a bunch, here is a search link:

https://forums.yoyoexpert.com/search?context=topic&context_id=360952&q=Yoyo%20went%20responsive&skip_context=true

I think the best thing for cleaning is 100% acetone from a hardware store. But there are other options. Just need a small glass jar and something that evaporates cleanly without leaving a residue. Some use isopropyl alcohol. Acetone is the active ingredient in fingernail polish remover, but some have additives that will not evaporate cleanly from the bearing. I have used lighter fluid before. Like ronsonol for zippo style lighters. Just be careful of the surface you’re using, because all of these things will damage finishes.