Alright Folks, Need a bit of advice.

I’m pretty new to throwing, but I’m rather rapidly working my way through the learn section (intermediate, as of right now) of this web site and I felt like planning ahead, so I was learning for a new yoyo to handle the more advanced tricks. Right now I’m throwing a kickside, which I adore, but it doesn’t seem to spin for very long once it hits the string.

I’ve narrowed down, from reading the forums, and browsing reviews and the like, three yoyos that I’m considering, and I was wondering if I could get some informed evaluation of the options:

1. DV888 (Splash/whatever): I absolutely dig the look and the idea of an all metal yoyo, but from my understanding it is a relatively undersized throw (clocking in at 1.97" instead of the seemingly more normal 2.2"). Being new, I’m not entirely certain how this undersized nature will affect things, so I figured I’d ask here.

2. Protostar: Seems like a lot of people love this yoyo. It’s full sized, and relatively light weight (at least it seems as such). My understanding is that this throw throws as well, if not better, than some all metals. It does have the center trac bearing, and I didn’t know if that would make me sloppy in my throws or not.

3. DMII: Another perennial favorite of the forums and many sites. Seems like a very solid throw, but I’ve heard that there can be challenges in making it entirely unresponsive and the spin time may not be as long as the two above. Again, I’ve no experience with it, so I turn to you educated folks to help me out. I also don’t know how it handles on a string, while the other two seem to be built for that kind of play.

Anywho, those are the three that I’ve kinda cobbled together (though I wouldn’t completely rule out other things within the same price range). Any advice or information that you all can provide would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

DM2 spins more than long enough to get you through anything, as does the Protostar and dv888.