5A/Counterweight Display!

Show off those 5a setups! Gotta a cool CW? A unique CW/string/yoyo combo? Let’s see em. I got those Halloween vibes going with this one.

The WindRunner is a great choice for 5a by the way. Stable with the double rims, spins forever, not crazy expensive so you don’t have to worry about beating it up etc.

10 Likes

Replay Pro is the EDC

Silenus with the porykon is my real practice setup

Kapital with the Beeb is comfy and laid back

Flame with the bouncy ball is me aiming high lol

I’m new to 5a but I’m invested

13 Likes

11 Likes

My two dedicated 5A beasts

10 Likes

Weekender with a leather counterweight from a leather yo-yo shop in Japan.
Axl Elite with a leather counterweight made by myself.
Wildwood Oak yo-yo from @Eric_Newlin with a CLYW Log counterweight.

I’m really into the leather counterweights. I really didn’t like when my plastic counterweights would hit metal my yo-yos. After seeing Doc Pop’s leather yo-yo and counterweights, I went searching. The place Doc Pop mentioned was the only place I could find that makes them and I was lucky he had a few left. I started making my own since I couldn’t find any one else who does. They work great and I love ‘em.

12 Likes

This is so sick! I usually prefer soft CWs on metals too I hate the ping noise die and other plastic makes when it hits

1 Like

Yeah, that noise is the worst. Especially at night lol. That was the driving force to make a leather one. Bonus side effect is that the leather provides a good grip.

You guys are braver than me lol. I mainly use Duncan rubber ball these days YYF has a rubber ball CW as well that is a little harder than Duncan’s but still much softer than dice). Any hard plastic counterweights are too painful at this point. Hopefully once I’m a little better I can move on to nicer looking CWs. Interested in the wooden ones; seems like they might be softer than plastic and less painful.

7 Likes

Love the Duncan dice. I have several. Mainly for the visual…