5A counterweight considerations

So aside from material and overall design (like, does it contain a bearing, or how is the string attached), there are three physical characteristics to consider: shape, weight, and overall size.

Now, correct me if I’m wrong, but I get the impression that weight is the number one factor in choosing a counterweight. But how important is size or shape?

I’ve never tried 5A before, so I don’t know what makes for a good counterweight shape or what might be consider ideal (or problematic) size. Is it merely about comfort in the hand? Or are there other considerations, like “grippability” or aerodynamics?

So aside from having a weight between 10g and 11g, what should one look for in an ideal 5A counterweight?

4 Likes

Shape doesn’t really matter, for size as long as it’s roughly the size of a die it’s fine.

Counterweight isn’t that big of a deal. Just use a standard dice counterweight. Or if you care that much then get an ultraweight or something similar with a bearing

BUT. I think my biggest advice is…

Play 3a instead :stuck_out_tongue::joy:

6 Likes

My opinion? Something soft like a Duncan bouncy ball counterweight. When learning (and maybe even after you learn) that things gonna hit the back of your hand(s). The die hurts when it hits your hand. The bouncy ball doesn’t.

6 Likes

3A intimidates the bajeezus out of me, to be honest. I am kinda curious about 5A cuz of the physics of the counterweight.

I figure the Duncan rubber ball is easier on the knuckles, which is good early on, but I’m curious about later on down the road when/if hitting the knuckles and back of hand isn’t a constant occurrence. Like, do any 5A players use metal counterweights?