Yyt Atlas? Yyt Chain mail CW?

Howdy howdy guys

I’m excited for 5A may!
I’m this close to ordering yyt atlas, it looks super appealing, especially for 5A may

So what are your thoughts on it?? I’d also prolly gunna order a chain mail counterweight with it since that seems super appealing, and was wondering what everyone thought of both of them!
I’m a beginner 5A player, I can hit bee sting consistently, and a couple others like tower stall and pendulum wrap. I’m wanting to get into more advanced 5A tricks later on and I’m a big Jake Elliot and YoTricks fan so this seemed like a good idea, and a nice set up with the counter weight, and just wanted to know everyone’s thoughts before I pulled the trigger :grin:

Thanks to anyone who shares they’re thoughts!
:blush: :heart_hands: :hugs:

4 Likes

I had an atlas a few years ago, I think it’s really underrated. It’s really floaty and doesn’t really feel that wide imo but the width definitely makes it more catchable. I haven’t tried the chain counterweight, I think it came with a delrin weight when I got it. It’s great for 5a cause it’s not too expensive, so you won’t be that afraid of dropping it.

3 Likes

From what I hear, their chain mail CWs are a rip off of some hand made ones by Dustin Gunter? I could have that name wrong. I’m sure someone will come along soon and correct me if I’m wrong.

I think you can still order a custom handmade one from the guy that actually makes them if you can find him on Facebook.

As for the atlas, I had two b grades at one point and they felt gimmicky to me with the crazy width. I don’t throw 5a very often though. I bet it’s good for that.

3 Likes

If they’re the same, what would be the benefits of ordering one of the custom made ones? I don’t mind paying a lil more to get them in the same order and not having to deal with paying for shipping and everything