YYF Spin time

So I have a shutter and a czech point, and both of these yoyos clock out between ~45-53 seconds. Why is the spin time so bad? I’ve barely used them…

1 Like

It really just depends on the throw. At least that’s in my experience. I can’t say whether it’s you or the yoyo. Edit. Maybe it’s a bearing issue. Maybe the spark plugs.

2 Likes

What kind of time are you expecting?

1 Like

I throw pretty hard. I was expecting something from 1:30-2:00 especially for the shutter since Stein won worlds with it. I’d be surprized at the czech point too b/c its ann connoly signature series

:frowning:

I have a lot of hard throws too but a lot of times the throws are not perfect resulting in the tiniest bit of string friction on the inside gap which slows the spin a lot. If your throws are perfect maybe that’s all the spin time you’ll get out of those two. I’m no yoyo doctor though.

1 Like

Spin time is something that comes from practice. You’ve just got to work on straightening your throw and throwing harder, and it’ll come with time.

2 Likes

Spin time should almost never be an issue. Only time i even think about spin time is when im learning a new trick. Like others have said, it comes from practice and muscle memory. Getting your throw straighter, snapping your wrist harder, keeping the yoyo on plane when doing tricks. All these things add up

9 Likes

Frankly I think that is an unrealistic expectation. Sleep time, maybe. Working trick time, no. The forces acting on a yoyo doing tricks all work against you. If you watch people like Stein and Connoly, their routines incorporate a number of regens to keep things going.

Why, they even catch the yoyo now and then and basically start from a fresh throw mid routine. :upside_down_face:

4 Likes

Spin time will be caused by 2 factors - one’s throw and breaking in the bearing. New yoyos, in my experience, feel a little lethargic when it comes to spin until it’s broken in or if I get impatient and clean the bearing.