My background is engineering so please understand that I tend to look at numbers a lot. AND PLEASE check my work. I may have made an error or may be misunderstanding something.
I was adding up the scores of Gentry Stiein (4th) and Luis Enrique (5th). It looks to me like Luis’s numbers were not added up correctly. (See attached) However, if the spreadsheet that was used for worlds goes out additional decimal places then what is shown on the worlds spreadsheet is visual deceptive. This would mean that I have missing data.
The question is: Did Gentry and Luis tie for 4th place? On the surface it would seem so. (more information on how a tie is handled at worlds below)
I have also taken this into account-----
From the worlds scoring page: “IN CASE OF TIE
Judges will determine the winner with the descending order of T.Ex, T.Ev, and P.Ev. If after comparing all three numbers and there is still a tie, the judges will call it as a tie or suggest a better solution. The judges’ decision is final. All contestants are expected to read and understand the entire rules above.”
Notice that Luis beat Gentry in - T.Ex, & T.Ev - but Gentry beat Luis in P.Ev. In this case it would seem like Gentry should have taken 5th because of the tie shown by the math.
Once again, any additional information is appreciated.
Can anyone who attended worlds shed some light on this?
Can anyone check my math to make sure it is correct?
Disclaimer: I am in no way associated with Gentry or Luis. I just want more info on what happened.