Wood yo-yo response tuning question

Any of you fixed axle enthusiasts have tuning tips on how to make a 1 piece, or glued throw more responsive? I have a couple that cannot be taken apart that are just not responsive. Different thickness and string types doesn’t seem to make much difference.

I’m no pro at this but I’ve found using a cotton strings helps with this.

1 Like

If experimenting with different strings don’t work, I’d try:
• lightly sanding the inner walls
• waxing the end of the string
• double wrapping around the axle
• any combination of these

4 Likes

I second double wrapping the axle. :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

In this scenario, I start by really increasing the string torsion. Let the yoyo hang from the string and spin it until it’s very tight - way tighter than normal. Play with that tight torsion for a few minutes and then gradually bring it back to neutral torsion. If it gets slippy before you get to neutral torsion, tighten it a little until it responds well and play for a few more minutes. Then try backing off again. This often does the trick and gets it responding consistently. The nice thing about doing this first is that it doesn’t change the yoyo (like sanding does) and it helps break in the string.

If you still have low response or the string responds better on one side, then you might put a tiny bit of beeswax on the axle loop.

If that still doesn’t work, you might try sanding a tiny tiny amount as close to the axle as possible. But make sure you’ve tried the above things first.
The misconception some people have is that the inner walls do all the response work on a fixie. The walls really just help get the wind started by creating a moment of slack in the string. It‘s the axle/string connection that does the heavy lifting.

10 Likes

Very well said, good tip about string torsion. And yeah, that would be the order I would usually do it too. :smile:

2 Likes

Thanks, and thanks to all who posted.