'Why fixed axle?' you may well be thinking... We'll tell you why!

I want to open in giving just two reasons why fixed axle yoyoing should not be overlooked by you ball bearing only throwers out there.

My reasons are numerous, but one thing that I love about fixed axle yoyoing (wood particularly) is that fact that it is such an interesting juxtaposition of being the very roots of yoyoing, a path that has been well worn over may decades, yet has been resurrected as a very fresh and exciting modern style by the efforts of Ed Haponik, Drew Tetz and others. It makes it both classic and an exciting avenue brimming with new creative possibilities.

It’s also a rewarding challenge that strikes a great balance between looking slick and kinda goofy; both inspiring and giving a few chuckles. I don’t think modern 1A style quite strikes that balance in the same way.

Chime in, everyone! Share some of your reasons why fixed axle is a worthy pursuit.

5 Likes

I am not very good at it, but I really love fixed axle for multiple reasons. First of all, some fixed axles I have seen are beautiful. I have a TK no jive mandala, for instance. Also some of the tricks people do, are amazing!

Wooden fixed axle was the beginning of my yoyo journey. My grandmother made most of her toys as a child and taught me to make many of my own as well. The yoyo was the first toy she showed me how to make out of a fallen tree limb and a piece of dowel. Therefore, the wooden fixed axle play starts with warm memories and is incredibly special to me.

For me, one of the special things about wooden responsive yoyos is that the yo can be made at home for little to no cash. They can be as simple or extravagant as one wants. They can be made for others, slammed into the ground, sat on, stepped on, abused, and you just make another. Making your own allows you to experiment and makes yo-yoing even more of an individual experience.