What’s your go to video setup?

What is your choice for recording yo-yo videos at home.

Whether it’s a single trick video, or a tutorial, or a freestyle, or a how to video>

Do you use a:: Cellphone….Go Pro….Video camera…. Camera with video mode…. etc.

If you use a camera, what lens do you use?

4 Likes

phone on the table propped up between a couple drinking glasses has been good enough for trick a week. Getting a better video setup isn’t gonna make my playing any better so I’m cool w what I have.

5 Likes

I put a phone in a chair and try and get that 1-in-100 shot without being interrupted at work

2 Likes

Cell phone. I’m no pro

2 Likes

Got one of these for Father’s Day. Excited to try it out.

9 Likes

Super basic phone mount setup with my iphone 11. If I’m recording it’s usually in the morning while I’m making breakfast or just generally waking up, so coffee and water are nearby.

I like having the camera placed at a decently high angle because it means you can record with less space (and I don’t really like being on camera a whole lot.) With a more straight-on angle it can be hard to get the camera far enough away to get everything in the shot, and it’s hard to find a place with enough distance to film comfortably. It’s a lot easier to find a high shelf to place a small phone mount on. It’s also kinda nice because it’s easier to parse what’s happening during tricks imo. I’ve definitely gone back and looked at my own videos from time to time to remember how a certain trick I filmed in the past worked.

Example clip:

4 Likes

iPhone 13 0.5 zoom:

Fujifilm XT-3 + Rokinon Cine DSX 35mm T1.5

I’ll post some more examples tomorrow. In the end as long as you are willing to get creative and have fun you can usually make most cameras work just fine, phone or other.