What makes a throw good for 5A

I consider myself pretty knowledgable when it comes to 1A, But I’m a total noob when it comes to 5A. But I recently have started dabbling in it. I notice that the Duncan free hand models have medium to high walls, and other throws geared towards 5A like the die-nasty also have higher walls. So I am assuming that the high walls that are not so desirable for 1A are for 5A? Right now I am using my protostar and my zenith, they seem to work good for being a beginner “and I’m not so worried about dropping them” I’m just curious to hear what some of you guys are using for your freehand set ups.

I’ve heard that h-shapes were the best,but there is no higwalled h-shape in my knowledge,but the highwall seems logic.

Really anything that’s suitable for 1a.

YYF G5 is kind of high-walled…ish
I think any yoyo you are comfortable using in 1A is good for 5A

Low wall, high stability are the two most important things. 5a has a lot more Z axis (3d) motion to it than other styles, so having a yoyo that will be effected by that as little as possible is what you want.

For the most part, if you like it for 1a you’ll like it for 5a with a handful of exceptions. For instance, I love the Phenom and Gradient for 1a, but I can’t get them to work for 5a.

I was just writing a thread for this lol but you beat me too it I was wondering the same thing

I read it is important to to keep your yoyo to counterweight ratio around 7 to 1
Does that sound accurate?

It is.

6 to 1. 7 to 1 is a little too light. Duncan dice weigh about 10.5 grams, the average yoyo weights 66 grams. Personally I use a 65g yoyo and a 10.9g counterweight.

I don’t underrtsnad the weight ratio thing fully im still a noob to 5a can someone please fully explain to it me im currently using the takeshi dice and have a yyf space cowboy hub stack and shutter Yoyo