What makes a good teacher?

I’m a teacher in my 3rd year of the craft. After undergrad, grad school, and personal experiences I have heard dozens of theories on what makes a good teacher. Each of us has our own ideas. Sound off! I want the YoYo community’s opinion! Are you currently a student? If so, who is your fav teacher and why? Is it the subject? Their approach?
Non- students- get in the game! What do you remember?

I’m curious as to what ya’ll think. I’ll hold back my views because I don’t want to taint the ‘data’.

With school starting back up next month, I would love to get some fresh views…

Depends a lot on the grade, but I feel teaching to the class an specifically to the students capabilities is a major factor. But standardized testing has put a huge damper on that, as its basically forces you to teach to the test; otherwise you lose your job at best or the school loses funding and closes at worst.

Yup, teaching to the test is an unfortunate and unavoidable fact of the education system right now. Yuk.

In an ideal world, the best teachers are those who inspire a love of learning. If the students have that, the rest takes care of itself. They practically teach themselves and are at minimum, motivated to help steer the style and content of investigations.

On a practical level, it’s more likely that a teacher will have to give lessons from time to time. :wink: And when that happens, the best teachers provide opportunities for every learning type. If they have hands-on learners, they should provide a hands-on component or alternative. If they have students who thrive on books and worksheets (they exist!), these should also be integrated.