what is better

I am a beginner and i want to buy a new yoyo. I looked in the internet and i found two yoyos for beginners/starters. The sage and the velocity. I wanted tho ask wich is better and what yoyos would you prefer?

Overall, the Sage, which is a branded YoyoFactory OneStar.

You can also find it here at YYE as the YoyoFactory OneStar, but the one here comes only with the wide unresponsive bearing. So you would do the opposite of the Pro Pack-- buy the OneStar plus a half-SPEC bearing: http://shop.yoyoexpert.com/product/62/YYF-Bearings (the one that says Half SPEC (Narrow)).

I started off with the Velocity, so I’m not saying anything bad about it… it’s a good fun yoyo. But the OneStar/Sage is more durable and just feels more dependable. The adjustability of the Velocity is fine, but you won’t likely use it much-- you’ll find yourself wanting to play responsive and then having to dial in just the right responsiveness-- and then wanting to learn to bind and having to figure out of you have a good gap size. You won’t be switching back and forth THAT often.

And since you’re not switching back and forth THAT often, swapping a bearing is just as easy. And once you learn to bind you will probably spend a lot of time in that mode… the OneStar is a better choice for unresponsive play overall.

1 Like

Food is better. Make sure you have food first eat eat.

Anyways I like the swapableness of the Velocity when I was starting but as Greg said you won’t be switching styles that much so the YYF One is probably the better choice unless you think you’ll be doing a lot of switching.

1 Like

I want to have a responsive yoyo but i wanted the velocity when i get better to have only one yoyo for responsive and unresponsive

Well if that’s what you want than go for it. The Velocity is a great starter yoyo I enjoyed mine for a long time and I can still do quite a few of my tricks on it if I throw hard enough

1 Like