What are the "standards"

As a beginner, I find the amount of different yoyos out there to be a bit daunting. What do you think are the yoyo standards out there?

What I mean by this is the throws that have stood the test of time. The ones that everybody has owned or thrown before. The ones that are always available in a product lineup, not a limited run. The ones that new yoyos get compared to.

What I DON’T mean is your personal favorite (though it could be). Or the best selling (also could be, but best selling likely has more to do with cost). This is meant to be as objective as possible.

An analogy: If anyone plays guitar out there, these are the Fender Telecasters, Strats, Gibson Les Pauls, Martin D28s of yoyos.

Popular yoyos that have been very succesful:

Yoyojam Darkmagic 2
Yoyofactiry DV888
Yoyofactory supernova
Yoyofactory genesis
Duncan freehand0
CLYW Cheif
Onedrop code 2

Many people compare yoyos to the Chief, which is a great yoyo. Just about everyone has either owned one or tried one and is used for comparison a lot.

1 Like

It’s worth noting that “standards” in yoyo are a moving target, whereas standards in guitar endure. Yoyos that were once the standard (888, for example) are considered lagging behind. Even the Supernova and Genesis are getting refreshes this year.

I agree with the above posters (the Chief is a great yardstick by which to measure), but with the caveat that you’re just not going to get the same definitive answers as you do in the guitar world. Plus, as popular as those might be, many of us STILL don’t have that basis of comparison. There aren’t yoyo stores around, we don’t know other yoyoers, or we only know people with certain brand affinities.

Telecaster, you can hear one through a Twin and go, “Yeah, that’s the stuff… that’s the classic Tele sound I’m after!” but you can’t know how a yoyo feels or performs by watching someone use one.