Weird experiments/ mods done on yo-yos?

So I’m a welding student and one of my instructors and I had the idea to TIG weld an aluminum bead around my old YoYoFactory dv888 and surprisingly it’s actually kind of fun to use. Wondering if anyone out here has done some crazy mods.

10 Likes

We’re gonna need some pics.

12 Likes

Yeah, human brains are limited

2 Likes

My friend taped heavy disks to both sides of a dollar tree yoyo and now it’s over 200 grams?

3 Likes

Beautiful​:joy::joy::joy:

1 Like

Heck yeah! I’ll post them later today when I get back from class

3 Likes

@yoyodoc May have a couple pics…

He’s the fella you want in this thread. :slight_smile:

5 Likes

@YoYoExpertGarrett Care to show us the Overthrow thingy again?

Have you boys ever hears of the…

Catsup Mod ?

:wink:

8 Likes

Indeed Zammy! Greatest mod of all time.

3 Likes

Well, you can’t just leave us hanging like that.

1 Like

That is a really cool idea🙀

I’m only chiming in because I am a Professional welder(at least for the past 50 years…)

My specialty just happens to be T.I.g. Welding aluminum🤡

That is such a slick idea; haha.

I sure never thought of it.

Your instructor is a Genius.

6 Likes

Sorry for the wait everyone. Here it is. I took the bearing and axel out for the photo

6 Likes

That’s awesome that I finally met a fellow welder on this form! He is very clever. He actually use to work for a company that was contracted for GE and Rolls Royce to weld the fins on a jet turbine. His tolerance was 0.05 of an inch :grimacing:! He’s an amazing welder tho.

1 Like